Pakistan: National Holidays                                         


There are a number of regional holidays celebrated across Pakistan.

Below is a list of the national holidays.

Fixed-Date Holidays

February 5 - Kashmir Solidarity Day

Observed since 1900 as a day to protest Indian control of part of Kashmir and Jammu.


March 23 - Pakistan Day

Commemorates the Lehore Resolution of 1940—which demanded that a separate Muslim-majority state be created out of the British Indian Empire. In 1956, the republic of Pakistan was also declared on this day.


May 1 - Labor Day/May Day

A day of rest for all workers is observed. 


August 14 - Independence Day 

Pakistan gained independence from British India on August 14, 1947.


September 6 - Defense Day

 This date commemorates the beginning of the Indo-Paksitani War of 1965.


September 11 - Death Anniversary of Quaid-e-Azam

The death of Muhammad Ali Jinnah, founder of Pakistan, is celebrated.


November 9 - Iqbal Day

The birthday of national poet Muhammad Iqbal is observed.


December 25 - Birthday of Quaid-e-Azam


The birthday of Muhammad Ali Jinnah, founder of Pakistan, is celebrated.


Islamic Holidays*



Muslim celebration called the “Feast of Sacrifice” that commemorates Abraham’s wiliness to sacrifice his son. The date also marks the end of the Hajj pilgrimage to Mecca, Saudi Arabia.



Muslim celebration that lasts 5 days and commemorates the end of fasting during the month of Ramadan.



Muslim celebration of the Prophet Muhammad’s birthday.



Muslim celebration that commemorates the end of the mourning for the martyred Imam Hussein ibn Ali.


*Note: Islamic holidays are celebrated on the Hijri calendar which is a lunar calendar. The calendar consists of 12 months and 354 days. The hijri calendar is about 11 days shorter than the Gregorian calendar. For this reason, the Muslim holidays are not held on fixed dates on the Gregorian calendar.