UAE: Geography                                          

The Middle East (or West Asia) sits where Africa, Asia and Europe meet. The countries in the Middle East are all part of Asia.

For clarity, they are often shown geographically as a separate landmass.

Opinions vary as to what countries make up the modern definition of the Middle East. Some sources consider Armenia and Azerbaijan to be part of the Middle East, while most modern experts consider them to be part of Europe.

The same can be said for the island country of Cyprus. For that matter, the African country of Egypt is still thought (by some) to be in the Middle East, as are the northern African countries of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, and Libya that border the Mediterranean Sea.

Total Area                              83,600 sq km (slightly smaller than Maine, USA)

Border Countries                

Oman                                      410 km

Saudi Arabia                           457 km

Coast Line                              1,318 km


Flat, barren coastal plains merging into rolling sand dunes of vast desert wasteland; mountains in east

Highest Point                       Jabal Yibir                  1,527 meters

Natural Resources               Petroleum and natural gas

  • The UAE is strategically located along the southern part of the Strait of Hormuz that is a vital transit point for much of the world’s crude oil.

  • The UAE is divided geographically into a federation of seven emirates (map):

  1. Dubai

  2. Abu Dhabi

  3. Ajman

  4. Al Ain

  5. Fujairah

  6. Ras Al Khaimah

  7. Sharjah