Qatar: Geography                                       

The Middle East (or West Asia) sits where Africa, Asia and Europe meet. The countries in the Middle East are all part of Asia. For clarity, they are often shown geographically as a separate landmass.

Opinions vary as to what countries make up the modern definition of the Middle East. Some sources consider Armenia and Azerbaijan to be part of the Middle East, while most modern experts consider them to be part of Europe.

The same can be said for the island country of Cyprus. For that matter, the African country of Egypt is still thought (by some) to be in the Middle East, as are the northern African countries of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, and Libya that border the Mediterranean Sea. 


Qatar is a peninsula located in the east of Arabia, bordering the Persian Gulf and Saudi Arabia, in a strategic location near major petroleum deposits.  


11,437 sq km (slightly smaller than Connecticut, USA). The Qatari peninsula extends approximately 160 km north into the Persian Gulf from the Arabian Peninsula. Qatar varies in width from 55 to 90 km.  


Mainly flat (the highest point is 103 meters) and rocky. Notable features include coastal salt pans, elevated limestone formations (the Dukhan anticline) along the west coast under which lies the Dukhan oil field, and massive sand dunes surrounding Khawr al Udayd, an inlet of the gulf in the southeast known to local English speakers as the Inland Sea.  


Lying about 90 km east of Doha, Halul island (photo) serves as a storage area and loading terminal for oil from the surrounding offshore fields. Hawar, and the adjacent islands immediately off the west coast, are the subject of a territorial dispute between Qatar and Bahrain.