Russia: Geography                                                     


Can you find your new city?

What body of water is it closest to?

Can you find the capital of Russia?

What countries touch Russia?

What do you think the climate will be like in Russia? 

  • Russia, spread over all climate zones except tropical, is the world's largest country, with land that stretches almost halfway around the planet. In fact, by airplane it takes over 8 hours to reach Vladivostok on the Pacific Ocean coast from Moscow!


  • Administratively, the country is divided into 21 republics, 6 krays (federal territories), 2 federal cities, 49 regions, 1 autonomous region and 10 autonomous areas.


  • Russia has 1,067 major cities. The largest cities are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Nizhny Novgorod, Novosibirsk and Yekaterinburg.


  • Moscow, the capital, is the country's major economic and political center - the seat of the President, the government and the State Duma (parliament).


  • Some geography experts refer to the Russian landmass west of the Ural Mountains as European Russia (image). It is not a separate country, but referred to in such a way because of its political, cultural and geographical connection to Europe. The entire country of Russia is usually considered part of Asia.