Oman: Geography                                              


Oman is the 3rd largest country in the Arabian Peninsula with a total land area of approximately 309,500 square kilometers.

Area Comparative

Oman is twice the size of Georgia, USA and is slightly smaller than Kansas, USA.


Oman's terrain has a varied topography, consisting of plains, deserts, mountain ranges and wadis (valleys which are dry most of the year but which can suddenly flood with the rains).

Natural Resources

  • Petroleum
  • Copper
  • Asbestos
  • Some marble
  • Limestone
  • Chromium
  • Gypsum
  • Natural gas

Natural Hazards

Summer winds often raise large sandstorms and dust storms in the interior of the country. Periodic droughts also occur.

Environmental Issues

  • Rising soil salinity
  • Beach pollution from oil spills
  • Limited natural freshwater resources

  • The Sultanate of Oman occupies the southeast corner of the Arabian Peninsula.


  • The coastline extends 1,700 km from the Strait of Hormuz in the north to the border of the Republic of Yemen in the south.


  • Oman has 3 neighbors:
    1. Yemen
    2. Saudi Arabia
    3. United Arab Emirates


  • Oman touches 3 seas:
    1. Persian Gulf
    2. Gulf of Oman
    3. Arabian Sea


  • The two main mountain ranges are the Hajar Range (running from Musandam to Ras al Hadd) and the Qara Range (in Dhofar).


  • Around 82% of Oman consists of desert.


  • Most cities are located on the coast.


  • There are many caverns in Oman and the country is home to one of the largest caves in the world, Teyq Cave, which is 250 meters in depth. It is thought that the cave was formed as a result of several chambers collapsing due to erosion.


  • There are several islands located in Oman's waters. The largest is Masirah in the southeast, which is accessed by boat and plane.


Administrative Divisions

  • Oman is divided into 3 governorates:
    1. Muscat
    2. Dhofar
    3. Musandam


  • Oman has 8 administrative regions:
    1. A'Dakhlivah
    2. A'Dhahira
    3. Al Batinah
    4. Dhofar
    5. Al Wusta
    6. Muscat
    7. Musandam
    8. Al Sharqiya


  • Each of the administrative regions is subdivided into smaller districts called wilayats, which are governed by the wali, the person responsible for the area who reports to the Ministry of the Interior.