UK: Flag                                                                         

Three Flags in One:


1. The English Flag

Since the 13th century, the English have flown a flag bearing the red cross of St. George, the country’s patron saint.


2. The Scottish Flag

The Scottish flag represents the cross of St. Andrew.

In 1603, St. George and St. Andrew’s crosses were combined to produce the Union Flag.

3. The Irish Flag

The Irish flag portrays the red cross of St. Patrick and was included in the British flag when Ireland came under British rule in 1800.


Wales, the fourth country of the United Kingdom, is not represented in the Union Flag. The Welsh have their own flag with a red dragon on a white and green field.

The Union Jack

The British national flag is usually referred to as the Union Jack. A jack is any small flag flown at the bow of a ship.