Switzerland: Flag & National Symbols                        

  • Switzerland is a federal republic situated in central Europe. Today it consists of 26 federal states or regions called cantons. Each canton has its own coat of arms or flag.


  • The history of Switzerland as a nation began in 1291, when three cantons in central Switzerland teamed up to defend their rights against the counts of Habsburg.


  • The Swiss national flag was adopted on December 12, 1889. The red background with a white cross in the center was adapted from the flag of Schwyz, one of the original three cantons of the country. It reflects a common square flag style from medieval times. Today, only the national flag of Switzerland and Vatican City are square.

National Symbols

Swiss Chocolate

Swiss Cheese & Fondue


Skiing in the Alps



Clock & Watch Making