The Netherlands: Overview                                       

Capital                        Amsterdam


Seat of Government  The Hague


Government               Constitutional monarchy


Population                 16,947,904


Ethnic Groups               Dutch                           95%

EU                                2.5%

Turkish                        0.5%

Moroccan                    0.3%

Chinese                       0.2%

Other                           1.5%


Religion                         Roman Catholic           28%

Protestant                   19%

 Includes:           Dutch Reformed     9%

                        Protestant Church of The

                        Netherlands           7%

                                                                   Calvinist                3%

Other                           11%

Includes:          Muslim (5%), Hindu, Buddhist, Jehovah's

                       Witness, Orthodox

None                           42%


Language                                 Dutch (official)

Frisian is an official language in Fryslan province.

Frisian, Low Saxon, Limburgish, Romani, and Yiddish have protected status under the European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages



On January 23, 1579, the northern provinces of the Low Countries conclude the Union of Utrecht breaking with Spain.

July 26, 1581 they formally declared their independence with an Act of Abjuration.

It was not until January 30, 1648 and the Peace of Westphalia that Spain recognized this independence.