China: Overview                                                  

Check out some facts and pictures of this beautiful Asian country!

Capital                                     Beijing 


Government                            Communist state 


Population                              1,367,485,388 


Ethnic Groups                        Han Chinese                                                    91.6%

                                              Zhuang                                                            1.3%

                                              Other                                                               7.1%

(Other includes Hui, Manchu, Uighur, Miao, Yi, Tujia, Tibetan, Mongol, Dong, Buyei, Yao, Bai, Korean, Hani, Li, Kazakh, Dai and other nationalities)                                               


Religion                                   Atheist state (officially)

Unaffiliated                                                     52.2%
Folk religion                                                    21.9%                                      Buddhist                                                         18.2%
Christian                                                          5.1%
Muslim                                                             1.8%
Other (includes Daoist/Taoist)                            0.7%
Hindu                                                 less than 0.1%
Jewish                                                less than 0.1%


Language                                 Standard Chinese or Mandarin (official) or Putonghua 

                                                Yue (Cantonese)

                                                Wu (Shanghainese)

                                                Minbei (Fuzhou)

                                                Minnan (Hokkien-Taiwanese)



                                                Hakka dialects

                                                Minority languages


Language Note: Zhuang is official in Guangxi Zhuang. Yue is official in Guangdong. Mongolian is official in Nei Mongol. Uighur is official in Xinjiang Uygur. Kyrgyz is official in Xinjiang Uygur. Tibetan is official in Xizang (Tibet).


PRC Established                     October 1, 1949